Josh headshot
Josh Frydenberg - Liberal for Kooyong
HomeAbout JoshAbout KooyongAbout The Liberal PartyFor ConstituentsGet InvolvedKey LinksContact Josh
 Media Releases

Published: Wednesday, 5 April 2017

Download Text 

I am pleased today to announce a series of important appointments to the Sydney Harbour Federation Trust. I welcome the appointment of Ms Mary Darwell as the new Executive Director of the Sydney Harbour Federation Trust, and the appointment of two new members of the Trust’s board.

Ms Darwell served as the Chief Executive of Arts NSW for eight years, and has worked with Infrastructure NSW to lead the development of NSW’s first Cultural Infrastructure Strategy. Ms Darwell brings a wealth of experience and deep commitment to Sydney and its infrastructure to managing some of Australia’s most iconic places.

Ms Jean Hay AM will be appointed to the Board of the Sydney Harbour Federation Trust as Deputy Chair, along with Mr Garth Callender as a general member.

The Sydney Harbour Federation Trust was established to protect and improve public access to former defence sites around Sydney Harbour. Under the Act the Trust is governed by a Board of eight trustees.

Ms Hay is the former Mayor of Manly Council and is the Chair of the Northern Beaches Implementation Advisory Group. She has previously served on the Board as Deputy Chair and her appointment will provide continuity in the ongoing operation of the Trust.

Mr Callender is a former soldier with a distinguished military career. Mr Callender is currently working with the NSW Government on planning and delivering the Veterans Employment Program across the NSW public sector, and is also an Ambassador for Bravery Trust. His appointment to the Trust will ensure a greater connection to the military history of the Trust lands.

I thank the former, founding Executive Director of the Trust, Geoff Bailey, for his vision and stewardship of the Trust over almost two decades.

The Turnbull Government remains committed to managing these important heritage sites for Sydney and the nation, and for the enjoyment of all Australians and visitors to our shores.


 Back to Media Releases

Electorate Office:
695 Burke Road,
Camberwell VIC 3124 Australia
Phone: 03 9882 3677
Fax: 03 9882 3773
Email Josh
Ministerial Office:
Parliament House Office
M1:17, Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600
Phone: 02 6277 7920
Email Josh