Josh headshot
Josh Frydenberg - Liberal for Kooyong
HomeAbout JoshAbout KooyongAbout The Liberal PartyFor ConstituentsGet InvolvedKey LinksContact Josh
 About Kooyong

Click Here to view full size map

Name Derivation:
Named after the Aboriginal word meaning 'resting place'.

Area and Location Description:
The Division of Kooyong is located in Melbourne's eastern suburbs. It covers an area of approximately 52 sq km stretching from Kew and Hawthorn in the west to Balwyn and Canterbury in the east, and from Balwyn North in the north to Hawthorn East and Camberwell in the south. Kooyong suburbs include Balwyn, Balwyn North, Camberwell, Canterbury, Hawthorn, Hawthorn East, Kew, Kew East and Surrey Hills (part).

Kooyong contains a number of Melbourne landmarks including the Yarra River, beautiful parks and gardens and important architectural examples chronicling the history of Melbourne. It also possesses one of the highest concentrations of schools anywhere in the country.

Products/Industries of the Area: Predominantly residential with a number of major retail shopping strips.

First Proclaimed/Election: 1900/1901.

Demographic Rating: Inner Metropolitan

Members for Kooyong:
1901 - 1910 William Knox
1910 - 1922 Sir Robert Best
1922 - 1934 Sir John Latham
1934 - 1966 Sir Robert Menzies
1966 - 1994 Andrew Peacock
1994 - 2010 Petro Georgiou
2010 - Josh Frydenberg
Electorate Office:
695 Burke Road,
Camberwell VIC 3124 Australia
Phone: 03 9882 3677
Fax: 03 9882 3773
Email Josh
Ministerial Office:
Parliament House Office
MG:64, Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600
Phone: 02 6277 7920
Email Josh